slideshow 1 slideshow 2 slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5 slideshow 6

You are here

PSI’S CosmoQuest Offers an Array of Space Programming

pamela gay interviewing jamie molaro

From teleprompters, to stuff toys, you never know what you might find in this basement studio. Shown here, Pamela Gay interviews Jamie Molaro for an episode of The Daily Space. Credit: Pamela L Gay 

“You are just a click away from entering a vibrant online world of educational opportunities. While all across the US, we are seeing the doors to museums, libraries, and other educational facilities close in the face of the rolling COVID-19 pandemic, all these same places are now looking for ways to engage their audiences online,” said PSI Senior Education and Communication Specialist and Senior Scientist Pamela Gay. “Here at PSI, our online opportunities started well before any stay-at-home notice was issued, and they will continue far into the future, and the focus of these efforts is CosmoQuest, a PSI-project that engages people in learning and doing science online.” 

Through its Twitch.tv channel, CosmoQuest streams out a variety of different programs, and there is something for everyone. Their flagship program is Daily Space, which provides a fast-paced rundown of all that is new in Space and Astronomy. On Wednesday's this show features a roundup of recent rocket launches, landings, and failures, and Tuesdays and Thursdays often feature interviews with scientists. In addition to the Daily Space, CosmoQuest also offers Community Coffee, a new morning program that features Space Art on Mondays, and David Grinspoon’s Funky Science Story Hour rolls out Wednesday afternoons. This channel also brings you live recordings of the long running Astronomy Cast program, and simulcasts of other special events, such as Virtual Star Parties. They also host watch parties for rocket launches. 

Show Schedule:

- Community Coffee: M/T/Th/F 10:30am EDT / 7:30am PDT

- Daily Space: M-F 1:00pm EDT / 10:00am PDT

- Funky Science Story Hour: W 3pm EDT / noon PDT

- Astronomy Cast: F 3pm EDT / noon PDT 

You can get alerts for all these programs and more on Twitter by following @cosmoquestx  or checkout the online schedule of events linked off cosmoquest.org.

June 28, 2020
Page maintained by
fischer [at] psi.edu (A. Fischer)

PSI, a Nonprofit Corporation 501(c)(3), and an Equal Opportunity/M/F/Vet/Disabled/Affirmative Action Employer.
Corporate Headquarters: 1700 East Fort Lowell, Suite 106 * Tucson, AZ 85719-2395 * 520-622-6300 * FAX: 520-622-8060
Copyright © 2020 . All Rights Reserved.